killosh.blogg.se

Form fields in word 2010
Form fields in word 2010










form fields in word 2010

The bookmark goes in the first place in the document where you want to see the information from the UserForm. Do you feel comfortable enough with both methods to not care which you use?ġ.

form fields in word 2010

Do you expect users to edit the document? If yes, is it a concern that they might delete such a "target field" (bookmark or content control)Ģ. Which approach you should choose depends primarily on two things:ġ. The other approach (and I think that's what you mean when you refer to Greg Maxey's article) would be to insert Content Controls on the document (instead of bookmarks), write the data to them, and make sure they're mapped to a CustomXMLPart in the document.Īll content controls mapped to the same element in the CustomXMLPart will display the same text. It can't be next to the text - it has to surround the text. The key point to this is that the bookmark must The REF field will reflect the content of the bookmark (you can see this using Ctrl+A, F9). When the fields in a document are updated, (Inserting a cross reference inserts a REF field in the background). If you're writing data from the UserForm into bookmarks, then you would write it to one bookmark and insert a Cross Reference to that bookmark. So I may be mis-understanding some things. Content Controls are used on a document, not in a UserForm. Note: I'm unsure about what you mean by "content controls" in your problem description. I promise I will do some classes soon.ĭoug Robbins - Word MVP dkrmvpsorg I apologize for not being able to understand all of this well - this is the first form I have done in Word using VB. I have two methods of placing bookmarks, one is to select a blank space and insert the bookmark so it shows on screen as or just the placement where is should go and shows as I? They both seem to work. Above you had mentioned that I need to "surround" the Bookmark - not quite sure what that means?ģ. Do I put a bookmark where the next duplicate information areas are in the document or just place the REF field there? I am understanding that I should just place a REF field in the following placement of the same information instead of a "Bookmark +Ģ.

form fields in word 2010

"Maree Percival" wrote in message Cindy - thanks for helping me out on this, I got a little further today and found some of my own mistakes, but I am still not clear on the process.ġ. Please reply to the newsgroup unless you wish to avail yourself of myĭoug Robbins - Word MVP, Posted via the NNTP Bridge The advantage of that is that there is no limit to the number of DocVariable fields that you can have for the one variable. If by Graphical Form presentation, you mean what I think you do, you should look at the following page of Greg Maxey's website:Īnd use DocVariable fields instead of bookmarks. The users want to have the graphical form presentation instead of a template document with the field controls in it for filling in. When I experimented some of the bookmarks (with same name) in my template disappeared. I have found information regarding the design of filling in fields in the Template itself by Greg Maxey who also refers to articles by Suzanne Barhhill, but IĬan't seem to grasp how this might be applied to my needs? Any assitance would be greatly appreciated.

Form fields in word 2010 how to#

Example: "Supplier Name" field needs to populate three different places in the Word Template document. I have done some research as to REF fields but I am not sure if that is what I need to do or even how to do that if it is? I am stumped on how to make the bookmarks in the Word template or the User Form Fields (content controls) in the Form repeat/populate information in other bookmarks that is initially put into one field of the screen presentation I have developed a Word 2010 Template, placed text bookmarks, designed the "user input form" in VB and coded the fields I believe appropriately.












Form fields in word 2010